Stephansdom , Stephansplatz

Stephansplatz

When I travel for work, I usually put up in hotels located miles away from the city center, probably somewhere close to some industrial park. This trip to Vienna, I checked-in to this boutique hotel where I would stay for the next 5 days and stepped straight out onto Stephansplatz – center of Vienna. I was pleasantly surprised. I felt really pampered but wondered how I was I going to survive when I will move to a hostel 5 days later when official work would be done and it’s me and my time. Every morning, I was greeted by grand Stephansdom which stood majestically in Stephansplatz, towering over a U-Bahn Station which ran beneath the square. I just indulge and enjoy whilst I can…

Stephensdom

Tiled Roofs of Stephansdom

Stephansdom is different from other Cathedrals because of its brightly colored, glazed tiled roofs.

230, 000 Tiles

It’s definitely worthwhile heading up to the top of the tower of Stephansdom – enjoy the beauty of this great Gothic architecture of the 1100s, the 230,000 tiles that paved the mosaic roof, and the Viennese skyline.

Tower to Towers

I don’t have a map when I was in Vienna. I navigated by looking up at the sky ans spot Steffl . Steffl – the tallest tower of Stephansdom was where I would head each night to return to my hotel.

Street View from Top of Stephansdom

Horse Carriages lining Stephansplatz

One thought on “Stephansdom , Stephansplatz

  1. Hi there I am so glad I found your weblog, I really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Google for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I donít have time to look over it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.|

Leave a Reply

